[ENGLISH]










 
Virginia Dupuis

Virginia Dupuis, SCA

 

Utilisant un medium traditionnel, l’huile, je prends un point de vue macroscopique, souvent à une échelle plus grande que nature, et recherche une qualité tactile en accumulant les couches de peinture.

Je respecte la persévérance, la patience et la résilience et je suis inspirée par la beauté, la couleur et le rythme de mes sujets. L’exploration coloristique sous-jacente aux motifs, suggérant la création, la croissance et l’endurance, me permet de voir la beauté dans l’ordinaire.

 

Virginia expose son travail professionnel depuis quelques années. Elle a obtenu un diplôme en beaux-arts de l’École d’Art d’Ottawa. Lors de sa dernière année d’étude, elle a perfectionné le travail à l’huile en faisant deux studios avancés avec une concentration sur la théorie de la couleur.  

Virginia a été récipiendaire  du Ted Marshall Scholarship et du Morton Baslaw Watercolour Scholarship à l’École d’Art d’Ottawa . Elle s’est aussi mérité le premier prix toutes catégories au Ottawa School of Art Instructors and Student Annual Show and Sale, trois années consécutives – 2009 à 2011.

Virginia a reçu une mention spéciale lors du Juror’s Awards au Arteast Annual Juried Awards Show, cinq années consécutives -  2010 à 2014, chacune dans un médium différent,  ainsi que le Juror’s Award for AOE Arts Council Selections en 2011.

Elle a obtenu une bourse du Conseil des Arts (AOE) pour présenter ses oeuvre au Lalande and Doyle Exhibition Space au Centre des arts Shenkman ainsi que la bourse Exhibition Assistance du Conseil des arts d’Ottawa ( AOE).

Virginia est secrétaire bénévole d’Arteast. Elle est membre des Studios Tours d’Art d’Orléans. Elle est un membre sélectionné par jury de la Kanata Civic Art Gallery et est membre élu de la Society of Canadian Artists.

VirginiaDupuis.com

 

Thank you to our sponsors / Merci à nos commanditaires

 


Exhibitions  |  Artists  |  Gallery  |  Contact Us  |  Submissions  |  Events  |  Membership  |  Discover Vankleek Hill  |  English
© 2007 Arbor Gallery  |  Web Design - Impressions inc.

[FRANÇAIS]










 
Virginia Dupuis

Virginia Dupuis, SCA

 

Artist Statement

Working in the traditional medium of oil, I take a macroscopic view, often at a scale larger than life, and strive for a strong tactile quality, building up layers of paint.

I respect perseverance, patience and resilience and am drawn to a subject by its beauty, colour and rhythm. Exploring colouristically the drama in patterns, suggestive of creation, growth and endurance, allows me to see beauty in the ordinary.

 

Bio

Virginia has been exhibiting her work professionally for a number of years; she is a graduate of the 3 year Fine Arts Diplomaat the Ottawa School of Art.In the final year she refined her oil painting practice by completing two Advanced Studios in oil painting, as well as two Apprenticeships in oil painting with a concentration into colour theory.

Virginia was the recipient of both the Ted Marshall Scholarship and the Morton Baslaw Watercolour Scholarship at the Ottawa School of Art.  She has also won Best in Show at the Ottawa School of Art Instructors and Student Annual Show and Sale for three consecutive years – 2009 to 2011.

Virginia won Juror’s Awards in the Arteast Annual Juried Awards Show for five consecutive years -  2010 to 2014,  each in a different medium, as well as the Juror’s Award for AOE Arts Council Selections 2011 show.

She was awarded a grant from the AOE Arts Council to present her work on the Lalande and Doyle Exhibition Space in Shenkman Arts Centre, as well as Exhibition Assistance grants from the Ontario Arts Council.

Virginia volunteers her time as Secretary of Arteast.She is a member of the Orleans Art Studio Tour and a recently  juried team member of the Kanata Civic Art Gallery, and an elected member of the Society of Canadian Artists

VirginiaDupuis.com

 

Thank you to our sponsors / Merci à nos commanditaires

 


Exhibitions  |  Artists  |  Gallery  |  Contact Us  |  Submissions  |  Events  |  Membership  |  Discover Vankleek Hill  |  Français
© 2007 Arbor Gallery  |  Web Design - Impressions inc.